Advisory Board

Dr Devi Prasad Shetty, (Padma Bhushan) Chairman and founder, Narayana Heath (


Devi Shetty was born at Kinnigoli village Dakshina Kannada district, Karnataka, India. The eighth of nine children, he decided to become a heart surgeon when he was in fifth grade at school after hearing about a South African surgeon who had just performed the world’s first heart transplant.[3] After completing his graduate degree in Medicine and post-graduate work in General Surgery from Kasturba Medical CollegeMangalore, he trained in cardiac surgery at Guy’s Hospital in the United Kingdom. He returned to India in 1989 and initially worked at B.M. Birla Hospital in Kolkata. He performed the first neonatal heart surgery in the country on a 9-day-old baby named “Ronnie” 1992 a successful operation in medical history. In Kolkata he operated on Mother Teresa after she had a heart attack and subsequently served as her personal physician.[1] After some time, he moved to Bangalore and started the Manipal Heart Foundation at Manipal Hospital, Bangalore. He has performed over 15,000 heart operations. He has leveraged economies of scale to provide affordable healthcare. He was awarded the Padma Bhushan, third highest civilian award in India for his contribution to the field of affordable healthcare.

Dr H Sudarshan, (Padma Shri), Founder VGKK and Karuna Trust

H_Sudarshan Dr. Hanumappa Sudarshan is an Indian social worker and tribal rights activist. He is well known for his contributions to the upliftment of the forest dwelling tribes (mainly Soligas) in the Chamarajanagar district of Karnataka. He is also a recipient of the Right Livelihood Award and the Padma Shri. After graduation, he joined the charitable health institutions of Ramakrishna Mission which took him to the Himalayas of Uttar PradeshBelur Math in West Bengal andPonnampet in Karnataka as part of the job.[4] Instead of pursuing a medical practice in the cities, he decided to work with tribal communities and in 1980, he started the Vivekananda Girijana Kalyana Kendra for the integrated development of the tribals in the Chamarajanagar district of Karnataka.[2] He is also the founder and Honorary Secretary of the Karuna Trust, which is dedicated to rural development in the states of Karnataka and Arunachal Pradesh. He claims inspiration from the man-making and nation-building ideals of Swami Vivekananda. He advocates Gandhian ideals for rural development.


01cac7cDr Sanjay Sharma

A health-care technologist, Dr. Sanjay Sharma has over 15 years’ experience in providing health care for the masses. A medical graduate from the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Karnataka with an MS in General Surgery, PhD in Ayurveda, and an alumnus of the Indian Institute of Management, (IIM) Bangalore, Dr. Sanjay Sharma has lent his management and medical expertise to several medical institutes and hospitals.

In 1999, Dr. Sanjay Sharma became the Founder-CEO of ARTH, an integrative medical center in Bangalore. He is also the Founder-Trustee of Atreya Charitable Trust and a Trustee of We Move Foundation of Performing Arts. He has been a part of organizations such as Medanta, Neurosynaptic Communications, Healthways, and GMR Group. He is also a Professor, in the Department of Surgery, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, Bangalore.

Sanjay has trained more than 3000 people as a Staff and Volunteer at Landmark Education, between 1997 and 2003. He is an avid reader, trekker and theater artist.

Dr Sharma, is one of the few Foot Specialists practicing in India and his main field of work is in Diabetic Wound Management and Pressure Offloading techniques for early healing of Diabetic Wounds.

Dr Sharma, is the Chief Consultant and Director of APTA Healthcare Advisers, at Bangalore, affiliated to Indian Podiatry Association. He is the member of various professional bodies in Surgery, Wound Care and Podiatry in India and USA.

Prof. S Yathiraj, Professor of Medicine & Dean, Bangalore Veterinary College

yathiraj Prof. S. Yathiraj was born on 15th March, 1955. He completed his Bachelors in Veterinary Science from Veterinary College, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore in 1978. He completed his Masters in Veterinary Medicine from the same college in 1981. Awarded Ph.D. in Veterinary Medicine in 1991 from Veterinary College, Tirupati. He is recipient of University Gold Medal, Sowmyanayakamma Gold Medal, State Award and Jawaharlal Nehru Award.  He has published more than 60 research papers, 80 scientific papers, books. Participated in workshops and seminars at St.Louis, Kansas, Purdue, Minnesota (USA), Bangkok (Thailand), Colombo, Candy (Srilanka), Chittagong (Bangladesh), Sydney (Australia) as lead paper presenter. Served in editorial board of numerous technical journals. With his rich teaching and research experience and administrative acumen, he was instrumental in developing and modernizing the Veterinary Clinical Medicine Department.